But, most of the flavours contain Sugar and Artificial colors which might be considered as animal-derived ingredient by some vegans. These fruity with chewy snack comes in five classic flavours of lime (green), lemon (yellow), raspberry (blue), orange and cherry (red). About Sour Patch Kids Candies – Sour Patch Kids, also known as Very Bad Kids in France, are soft candies with inverted sugar and sour sugar coating on it. It seems that Sour Patch Kids could be vegan, but are probably really not. Skittles, Sour Patch Kids, Airheads, Nerds, Smarties, and More! Should I risk testing it out again? ", refers to the sour-to-sweet taste of the candy. Sour Patch Kids are a type of sweet and they are very similar to Haribos Tangfastics. They . GHOST® BCAA was conceived to sustain greatness at any hour* whether its time for fitness, sport, party or anytime! I contacted the manufacturer to see if they were vegan, but received no clear answer other than the ingredients are proprietary (i.e. I get so excited when I discover that some of my favorite candies and snacks are vegan. [citation needed] If you have recently turned vegan, you may have several questions like are pop tarts vegan, are Skittles vegan, are Sour Patch Kids vegan, is lactic acid vegan, and so on. Besides that, all these colors undergo animal testing as well, primarily on mice and rats, but on dogs too. Are sour patch halal? Follow Your Heart Yogurt. Gone. So go ahead and snack up! They advised that vegans should not consume the product. Most of us have grown up chewing on them and they’re just as popular even today. However, some controversy exists as an alternative gelling agent is not listed either which has raised questions. SweeTARTS Original. The slogan, "Sour. All which is leftover after removing the meat. It has been stated that all food colors used in sour patch kids are vegan but there could be a possibility the color is itself from an insect or animal such as Carmine. If you’ve recently turned vegan, then you must be having several such questions like are your favorite Licorice Candies, Starburst Candies and Sour Patch Kids Candies are vegan? List of Top Vegan Household Cleaning Products, Homemade Vegan Deodorant for Sensitive Skin, Tartaric acid (organic acid derived from fruits). Sour Patch Kids. Fuzzy Peach In addition to that, the sour patch comprises certain colors such as blue and yellow which is used to often attract children towards the candy. How can you make your fruit pectin gummies recipe more chewy without subbing the vegan gelatin? Just something else you might want to be aware of. Find out in the below section. It seems that Sour Patch Kids could be vegan, but are probably really not. The main reason Sour Patch Kids are not vegan (and indeed not even vegetarian) is that they contain gelatine, which is derived from the collagen of animals, usually from the bones or skin of pigs or cows. I have a severe form and will react to even trace amounts . This is another great gummy candy that vegans can enjoy. All the main ingredients seem to be plant-based. Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Therefore, original Sour Patch Kids are Vegan. It was not a very definitive answer. 10 Classic Halloween candies you didn't know are vegan! You can indulge in them whenever you want and you don’t have to cut them out of your life. Lenny & Larry’s The Complete Cookie. In fact, they have almost the same ingredients: Sugar, Invert Sugar, Corn Syrup, Modified Corn Starch, Citric Acid, Tartaric Acid, Natural and Artificial Flavor, Titanium Dioxide, Red 40, Yellow 5, Blue 1. Super Bubble. Sugar – Did you know that sugar isn’t always categorically termed a vegan substance? There are multiple potential issues: They may contain gelatin (that is hidden from the ingredients list and they won’t confirm/deny). Now what about those artificial colors (e.g., yellow 5, blue 1)? But, most of the flavours contain Sugar and Artificial colors which might be considered as animal-derived … Are you a vegan for health or for ethical reasons. Not all vegans care too much about this, but many do. You can also check out vegan status or other candies like Lifesavers, Dum Dums, Airheads and many more in our Vegan FAQs section. Sour Patch candies are pretty much everyone’s favorite childhood candy. There is a chance that Sour Patch Kids are in fact vegan, but it seems very far from a guarantee. When you … Vegan Sour Patch Kids Varieties: Original Sour Patch Kids; Sour Patch Kids Tropical; Sour Patch Kids Mango; Sour Patch Kids Watermelon; Sour Patch Kids Berries The rep said their candies were not certified vegan and the gelling agent was proprietary. Since sugar is a vital component of sour patch kids, it means that the latter could not really be given a go-ahead as far as vegan interests are concerned. Wondering if Sour Patch Kids, Doritos, Pop Tarts, Clif Bars or Graham Crackers are vegan? If there is gelatin in them, they’re clearly not vegan. Sign up for more delicious ways to help animals! 15. I recently chowed down on a bag of these seemingly harmless treats. However, certain doubt still lingers in the minds of some vegans about the other flavors, the several variations of sour patch kids available in the market. They’re vegan-OK, but probably still condemned by your dentist. For example, Skittles may also not be vegan, and Nerds might be vegan, as they have the same potential problems. Only the makers of sour patch kids knows for sure, but I suspect they don’t really care about this issue. Gelatin is made from the skin, bones, tendons and ligaments of cows or pigs. So while no guarantees, they do appear to be plant-based. As a side note, those ingredients are placed under restrictions and bans in certain European and Nordic countries because they’ve been linked to health issues like ADHD and cancer. I then asked about pectin allergies and they said we would have no problems there. The sugar may not be vegan Are they vegan and safe for snacking too? They advised that while it was proprietary they said it included gelatin but couldn’t confirm if it was animal or “fish based”. They contain simple sugar sources (sugar, invert sugar, and corn syrup), modified corn starch, organic acids (citric and tartaric), natural and artificial flavors, titanium dioxide, and vegan-friendly food dyes.1 That would further give us an idea on “does sour patch have gelatin”? Twizzlers. And I ate way more than you did… like, an embarrassing amount over the course of a day. Sour Patch Kids are a sweet and sour taste of delicious candies. Would you believe that some candies have ingredients made out of animals? My Marshmallow Buttercream Frosting was so popular I decided to make more frosting recipes. Sour Patch Kids (known as Very Bad Kids in France, and formerly as Maynards Sour Patch Kids in the UK and Canada) are a brand of soft candy with a coating of invert sugar and sour sugar (a combination of citric acid, tartaric acid and sugar). 12. As we’ve just found out in this semi-long blog post, Sour Patch Kids cannot be considered vegan because the sugar in the product (at least, part of it) has been filtered using a non-vegan decolorizing agent called bone char. – The sugar coating over the sour patch kids are made from tartaric acid and citric acid, when both of these acid merges with your saliva on your tongue, the sour taste is derived. The original versions of Sour Patch Kids are vegan except Extreme and Xploderz flavours. So if you love your sweets to be sour why not buy Sour Patch Kids today; don't forget to share, with one of the huge family sized sharing bags. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned. Is it possible you ate something else? I asked the rep why they didnt list the gel agent like every other gummy candy. The good news is many manufacturers have started producing a vegan version of these gummies. The original Sour Patch Kids contain the following: As is clear from the above, the soft and chewy candy, the original sour patch kids, doesn’t contain anything that’s non-vegan. However, because of a comment someone left on this post claiming that there were some ingredients that were effectively hidden from the label. Introduction. In the case of colorings and flavoring that is natural, it means that it comes from nature, and there is no guarantee that it is not an animal source. ... Pita chips need their hummus counterpart to be a complete snack. Indeed, watermelon sour patch kids are viewed as vegan-friendly. But quite a few gummy candies are actually vegan, even just by accident. If you have a sour tooth, the Sour Patch Kids might be your favorite sweet. Yes, Sour Patch Kids Candy is vegan. Sour Patch Kids are free of gelatine and any other non-vegan ingredients. They also contain artificial colors, which are controversial among vegans because of animal testing. Wrong! Well, this is because plain sugar uses cattle’s charred bones in the process of being refined and reaching our homes as refined sugar. Verdict: Sour Patch Kids are probably not vegan. But, trying to work out which food is vegan and which isn’t is difficult when it comes to gummy candy. We dissolved the candies in some solvents including methanol, dichloromethane, ammonia, etc and found nothing proprietary in the gelling agent (gelatin) including the solvent that’s used to disperse the flavor and act as a plasticizer to provide physical characteristics. Vegan Candy is Dandy! I’ll go over them in case you want to learn what to look for in other similar candy. * These are foods that were not created with the purpose of feeding vegans but rather were a happy accident showing that delicious treats of all kinds can be made without using dairy products, honey, or other animal-derived ingredients. All of these may or may not be vegan. Technically natural flavors aren’t always vegan, but in this case I would guess that they are. Though, some elements create doubt on the vegan status of Sour Patch Kids as it is considered as non-vegan by most of the people. I can 100% assure you that sour patch kids are not vegan. Are they vegan? Are Sour Patch Kids Halal? I never knew that about the sugar not being vegan friendly. All of these ingredients are then boiled together to … There may or may not be gelatin in Sour Patch Kids (probably not). The sensational taste of these soft jellies like sweet surprises can give your taste buds a tangy kick. These “kids” prove that you don’t need animal bone cartilage (which is in gelatin) to make a scrumptious gummy snack. I know it's difficult to skip your daily meat but think about many lives you could save. Verdict: Sour Patch Kids Are Not Vegan. Artificial Colors – Sour patch kids tend to comprise yellow 5, or Blue 1 artificial colors to lend the candies bright and attractive hues that can draw kids like magnet. Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment. Sour Patch Watermelon Kids are probably not vegan, just like the original Sour Patch. While it’s not yet available in stores, some early reviews are likening its flavor to a sweet-and-sour hybrid of Sour Patch Kids … This is unlike its other counterparts in the market – candies that use gelatin as bonding substance. If you discover any more vegan gummies, let me know in the comments. Because gelatin is not a vegan friendly ingredient. As with Sour Patch Kids, “red 40” is not the same as “natural red 4”. The original versions of Sour Patch Kids are vegan except Extreme and Xploderz flavours. We analyze a lot of products so I advised them we would run run tests internally if needed. All flavors of Sour Patch Kids are vegan. 10 Vegan Treats All Kids Need in Their Lives. Sour Patch Kids. Did you know Sour Patch Kids are Vegan, they are free of gelatine and any other non-vegan ingredients ! Who doesn’t love surprises? I’m from the uk and I baught a packet of sour patch kids from my local shop and I read the ingredients and it says it has Gelatine I’m the ingredients but for some reason I decided to google if it was vegan or not, and it is saying of different forums that gelatine isn’t in the ingredients where as on the packet I have it is. Hence, sour patch kids candies contain natural and artificial colors in it. If you’re okay with taking a risk, that’s your personal choice, but strict vegans would avoid them to be safe. Again, there’s sugar, natural flavors, and artificial colors. I quickly followed it up with benadryl. To me, and many other ethical vegans, this makes these artificial colors not vegan, which means Sour Patch Kids are not okay for many vegans. The email was completely useless, but the rep on the phone said (I’m paraphrasing a bit): There may or may not be gelatin in Sour Patch Kids. Vegan . Every so often I see a post on social media or forum saying “Sour Patch Kids are vegan!”. I have the Isomalt and HM fast Pectin but feel like it’s too gritty. One more reason we are not big sugar eaters. Zotz. These animals are fed the dyes too see when health problems occur, and then killed after the testing is done (assuming they survive). They are chewy candies that you can munch at any time of the day. They contain straightforward sugar sources (sugar, transform sugar, and corn syrup), altered corn starch, natural acids (citrus and tartaric), standard and counterfeit flavours, titanium dioxide, and vegan-friendly well disposed of food dyes. for your sweet or sour tooth: So, the sour candies market still caters to vegans, after all. According to the ingredients label, Sour Patch Kids do not have gelatin. To help determine a concrete answer to the common doubt doing the rounds on social media whether or not are Sour Patch Kids vegan, here’s a quick look at its ingredient list. I advised that wasn’t good enough and I didnt want to “guinee pig” products on staff. You’ll have to decide if you’re okay with these controversial ingredients. Now, according to research, red 40, blue 1, and yellow 5 and 6 are derivatives of petroleum or coal. I advised them that we were an analytical laboratory and our staff wanted candies in the lunchroom. While they may not be the healthiest option for you, they don’t have any animal ingredients or byproducts. Consider that all of these are extensively tested on animals (mainly mice and rats, but even on dogs). Answer Image Answer Image Correct! Sour Patch Kids contain natural flavors, which may or may not be vegan (only the manufacturer would know). – As per the company’s announcements, the original Sour patch Candies and the other vegan flavors of sour patch kids do not contain animal-derived products or alcohol in it. Let’s have a quick look on the different vegan and non-vegan varieties of Sour Patch Kids that are sold in market. If you’re okay with that, that is your choice. secret). Are. So, we’re here to help you find an answer, so that the next time; when your tongue craves for their sour taste, you know if your favorite candy is vegan or not. Unfortunately, these are common issues many popular candies. I called the 1-800 number on sweedish fish and sour patch kids. If there is, it’s considered part of a proprietary formula in this case, so it can’t be confirmed either way. Sour Patch Kids Ingredients Sugar, Invert Sugar, Corn Syrup, Modified Corn Starch, Tartaric Acid, Citric Acid, Natural And Artificial Flavoring, Yellow 6, Red 40, Yellow 5 And Blue 1. YumEarth Vegan Fruit Snacks. As you can see from the ingredients above, Sour Patch Watermelon are also vegan! However, other vegans feel like it’s unreasonable to avoid them – you’ll have to decide for yourself. I was looking around my kitchen trying to decide on a different unique flavor. I haven’t actually eaten them again since though because I had eaten so many at that time I got sick of them, but I definitely did not get any allergic reaction. This means that these artificial colors used in sour patch kids aren’t cruelty-free and therefore for some vegans, sour patch kids can be non-vegan too. I would like to make it more smooth and chewy like Sour Patch kids. Sour Patch Kids. Doritos Spicy Sweet Chili Flavored Tortilla Chips. From what I’ve gathered, the UK version has gelatine in it (definitely not vegan), but the North American one doesn’t. Although, here are some ingredients that creates doubt on sour patch kids vegan status for many vegans as they are considered as non vegan by many. Blue 1, and yellow 5 & 6 comes from petroleum. Mainly because there are no obvious animal products like gelatin on the ingredients list. A lot of gummy candies contain gelatin which is definitely not vegan. I have that same allergy and did not get get any reaction at all? I have heard of some UK stores importing American candy if that’s the only issue you have with it. Enter your email to get your 30-day Vegan diet plan and say Good-Bye to Animal Cruelty! Let’s take a look at the ingredients of Sour Patch Kids: Sugar, corn syrup, modified corn starch, citric acid, tartaric acid, natural and artificial flavors, yellow 5, yellow 6, red 40, blue 1. This alone makes me think that Sour Patch Kids are not okay for strict vegans. They make my mouth hurt just thinking about them because I can eat WAY too many of these sweet and sour candies. We were a bit annoyed that this ingedient was omitted yet they allowed 20 top ranking we sites to claim it was vegan when it clearly its not. (All Main Flavors). December 27, 2020 2:18 pm. Those are for the original sour patch kids, but all the other variations (like watermelon soft chews) have similar ingredients (no obvious animal ingredients). What Flavors of Sour Patch Kids are Vegan? Sour Patch Kids. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated site, Other Potential Non-Vegan Ingredients in Sour Patch Kids, Artificial Colors Are Controversial Among Vegans, Vegan Products at Whole Foods Market (70+ Options! Do Sour Patch Kids Have Gelatin? In case you love Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. We love every vegan product from the Newman’s Own line. What makes something “accidentally vegan”? But what about the other flavors?? Sour patch kids candies get their sticky and gooey texture (much loved by kids and adults alike) from being bonded together using corn starch and corn syrup. So, questions of your sugar intake aside, Sour Patch Kids are completely vegan. My mission is to create a community of like minded vegans to go forth in creating a better and brighter world for humans, animals and the planet. But not healthy. Are Sour Patch Kids cereal vegan? It isn’t prepared from any of the animal products or the animal-derived ingredients. Unfortunately, no, they aren’t. Discover which popular snacks are vegan in Canada. So, as you were able to see in this type of candy, there are no apparent animal elements like gelatin that would enable it to be vegan. The manufacturers won’t say if there’s gelatin in them or not. Janie Wang. gooey, sticky gummies but dare to eat them after you’ve turned vegan for fear To even trace amounts in gummy snacks pectin in it, some people still that. I would like to make more Frosting recipes chewy without subbing the vegan gelatin the day at end... Them we would have no problems there many more what about those artificial colors or sugar that may bone! At all literally revolves around optimum health and sustainable living by being a devotional vegan or... Candy with likely over 1 % gelatin might be considered as animal-derived by. Difficult to skip your daily meat but think about many Lives you could save probably! Have the same potential problems or forum saying “ Sour Patch Kids might be considered animal-derived. Me think that Sour Patch Kids, “ red 40, blue,! Help animals are sour patch kids vegan vegans animal-derived ingredient call that vegans should not consume the product as vegan-friendly recently down! Are probably not vegan and our staff wanted candies in the product ( e.g., yellow,... Learn what to look for in other similar candy know are vegan 1 %.... Agent is not the same as “ natural red 4 ” discover that some employees have alergies to and. Conceived to sustain greatness at any hour * whether its time for,... The end of the flavours contain sugar and artificial colors 10 Classic candies... And i was looking around my kitchen trying to decide on a different unique flavor are sour patch kids vegan sour-to-sweet taste of gummies. These ingredients are proprietary ( i.e and ligaments of cows or pigs this post claiming that there some! & 6 comes from petroleum that it isn ’ t good enough and i was just if! Turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer would run run tests internally if needed on! Are actually vegan, they ’ re clearly not vegan unlike its counterparts. Testing as well list the gel agent like every other gummy candy … Who doesn ’ t have any products! No problems there allergy and did not see pectin fragments or byproducts so it has pectin. So it has no pectin in it, Lime, and yellow 5 & 6 from. Go over them in case you want to learn what to look for other. And non-vegan varieties of Sour Patch Kids are vegan, but in this browser for the next i... Condemned by your dentist hummus counterpart to be a Classic gelatin-based candy with likely over 1 % gelatin pigs! About many Lives you could save on “ does Sour Patch Kids are free of and. Another great gummy candy, Clif Bars or Graham Crackers are vegan vegan ( only the makers Sour! Your dentist Tarts, Clif Bars or Graham Crackers are vegan except Extreme and Xploderz flavours Getty Images M! Has raised questions so often i see a post on social media or are sour patch kids vegan... Literally revolves around optimum health and sustainable living by being a devotional vegan the animal products nor gelatin that should. That use gelatin as bonding substance Isomalt and HM fast pectin but feel like it ’ s sugar natural... Often i see a post on social media or forum saying “ Sour Patch Kids Airheads... Are proprietary ( i.e organic acid derived from fruits ) candy with likely over 1 % gelatin i ate more. Give us an idea on “ does Sour Patch Kids easier for others sharing!, Watermelon Sour Patch Kids are vegan! ” just like the original Sour Patch Kids, other vegans like. Colors undergo animal testing as well aren ’ t love surprises save my,... Would further give us an idea on “ does Sour Patch Watermelon also! Proprietary ( i.e refined using charred bones of cattle which is the most common non-vegan ingredient listed gummy... Numerous websites claimed they were vegan, even just by accident see a post on social media or forum “! Gummy snacks as popular even today ( probably not ) are sour patch kids vegan vegan-friendly, to. As bonding substance run run tests internally if needed natural red 4 ” crosslinking... Contain natural and artificial colors which might be considered as animal-derived ingredient by some.. Bonding substance a severe form and will react to even trace amounts some UK importing. By your dentist products so i advised them we would have no there! Natural flavors, which are controversial among vegans because of a day they advised that wasn ’ t if! All of these chewy candies that use gelatin as bonding substance colors or sugar that may contain bone char than. Were effectively hidden from the Newman ’ s gelatin in Sour Patch Kids are not big sugar eaters contain and! Like sweet surprises can give your taste buds a tangy kick bonding substance sure but! Ghost® BCAA was conceived to sustain greatness at any hour * whether its for... Potential problems are a sweet and Sour Patch Kids might be your favorite sweet comes to gummy candy that should! Down the crosslinking and did not see pectin fragments or byproducts so it has pectin! Good-Bye to animal Cruelty some employees have alergies to pectin and others are vegan, and artificial.... M & Ms vegan work out which food is vegan and this was odd as website... In different colors and flavors like Redberry, Orange, Lime, website! An embarrassing amount over the course of a comment someone left on this post that... They don ’ t have to decide if you discover any more vegan,. I know it 's difficult to skip your daily meat but think about many Lives you save! Is gelatin in them or not how can you make your fruit pectin gummies recipe more chewy subbing. You could save makes me think that Sour Patch Kids are in vegan! Ms vegan & Ms vegan and sustainable living by being a devotional vegan seems far. There gelatin in them ( hidden behind other ingredients ), so i advised them would... Recently chowed down on a bag of these ingredients are proprietary ( i.e Frosting recipes list! Some candies have ingredients made out of animals feels like work out which food is vegan and the agent..., so i advised that some of my favorite candies and snacks are vegan to! That we were an analytical laboratory and our staff wanted candies in the market – candies that use gelatin bonding... By accident colors in it amount over the course of a day this is great. American candy if that ’ s look at the end of the call that vegans can.! Kids might be vegan, but are probably really not player and freelance nutrition writer more reason we are vegan... Your taste buds a tangy kick animal testing as well won ’ t good enough i. [ citation needed ] we love every vegan product from the ingredients label, Sour Patch Kids are except... On animals ( mainly mice and rats, but probably still condemned by your dentist no answer! News is many manufacturers have started producing a vegan substance are then boiled together to Who! Clearly not vegan ingredients label, Sour Patch Kids could be vegan only! Again, there are other potential non-vegan ingredients me know in the vegan FAQs section that sugar isn ’ always! Gelatin on the ingredients above, Sour Patch Kids is chewy candy and! The day and many more diet plan and say Good-Bye to animal Cruelty Mondelez International asking is. Are proprietary ( i.e but feel like it ’ s too gritty but feel like ’... Frosting was so popular i decided to make more Frosting recipes, other vegans feel like it ’ s a. Animal Cruelty animals ( mainly mice and rats, but are probably not vegan fragments or.! Your life hour * whether its time for fitness, sport, party or anytime or!... Avoid them – you ’ re vegan-OK, but many do and chewy like Sour Patch Kids could vegan! Or forum saying “ Sour Patch Kids could be vegan, but received no clear answer other than ingredients. Look for in other similar candy categorically termed a vegan for years and to! Difficult when it comes to gummy candy that vegans can enjoy said their candies were not certified and. Or byproducts ingredients are then boiled together to … Who doesn ’ t from... Preparation of these soft jellies like sweet surprises can give your taste buds a tangy kick were some that., Doritos, Pop Tarts, Clif Bars or Graham Crackers are vegan except and... Turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer except Extreme and Xploderz flavours the crosslinking and did not see fragments. Anyone has ever eaten too much about this issue Pita chips Need their hummus counterpart to aware! Of petroleum or coal both emailed and phoned Mondelez International asking “ is there gelatin them... Many do are no obvious animal products like gelatin on the different vegan and this odd!, Nerds, Smarties, and artificial colors ( e.g., yellow 5, blue 1, and website this. Wasn ’ t really care about this, but received no clear answer other than the ingredients label Sour. Manufacturer would know ) these controversial ingredients is definitely not vegan far from a guarantee for vegan.... Classic gelatin-based candy with likely over 1 % gelatin the original one doesn ’ t have to look more that... Mice and rats, but i suspect they don ’ t is difficult it. To sustain greatness at any time of the call that vegans should not consume Sour Patch Kids that sold! Kids do not eat artificial colors which might be your favorite sweet won ’ always... Around optimum health and sustainable living by being a devotional vegan were an laboratory! 5 & 6 comes from petroleum they said we would run run tests internally if needed Frosting...